Clean Sweep of the Week!

So I have an idea…when do I NOT have an idea (I’m like boy…err, girl genius; right)?

This is going require work on your end though; I need your help! I want readers to submit to me a recipe that they love (or think they will love) and ask me how I would fix it to make it healthier.

This should be fun!

Contrary to popular belief, this is not exactly the intended interpretation of “clean eating” (though wouldn’t it be nice?)

CleanEating_Humor_

When I say “clean up” or “clean sweep” when I am talking about a recipe-I am referring to how or what exactly I can I do to make it healthier and still taste amazing.

True to Price is Right form…Below we have our very first contestant!

COME ON DOOOOWWWNNN….

Thank you to my dear friend, Tammy for submitting this!

cleansweep

The original recipe can also be found here:
http://memoriesbythemile.com/2015/06/11/aunt-bees-shrimp-and-pasta-salad/?utm_campaign=shareaholic&utm_medium=facebook&utm_source=socialnetwork

This DOES look delicious and perfect for this hot summer weather!

Let’s take a look at the original recipe.

Aunt Bee’s Shrimp and Pasta Salad

Author: The Seasoned Mom

Serves: 4

Ingredients

  • 1 lb. small shrimp, peeled, deveined, and cooked (I buy the frozen, pre-cooked version for quick preparation)
  • 8 ounces elbow macaroni pasta, cooked and rinsed in cold water
  • ¼ cup chopped green onion
  • 1 green bell pepper, diced
  • 2 cups diced celery
  • 1 cup frozen peas, thawed
  • 1 cup mayonnaise
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
  • 1 tablespoon white vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 2 tablespoons fresh minced dill
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • ¼ teaspoon pepper
  • Instructions
  1. In a large bowl, combine shrimp, pasta, green onion, bell pepper, celery, and peas.
  2. In a small bowl, whisk together mayonnaise, lemon juice, vinegar, sugar, dill, salt, and pepper.
  3. Pour dressing over pasta mixture and toss until completely coated.
  4. Refrigerate for at least 30 minutes before serving.

Quiz Time! What are the calorie “heavy hitters” in this recipe?

The mayo and macaroni are the two main major offenders.

Just between these two things we have a combined calorie content of around 1600 calories!

Of those 1600 calories 160g is from fat and over 40g is poor value processed carbohydrates.

Now… these are MY suggested ingredient swaps to make this into healthier fair.

Serves: 4

Ingredients

    • 1 lb. small shrimp, peeled, deveined, and cooked (I buy the frozen, pre-cooked version for quick preparation)
    • 8 ounces raw, coarsely chopped cauliflower
    • ¼ cup chopped green onion
    • 1 green bell pepper, diced
    • 2 cups diced celery
    • 1 cup frozen peas, thawed
    • 1 cup fat free plain Greek Yogurt
    • 1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
    • 1 tablespoon white vinegar
    • 1 teaspoon stevia in the raw, to taste
    • 2 tablespoons fresh minced dill
    • ½ teaspoon salt
    • ¼ teaspoon pepper, to taste (I like lots of pepper personally)
    • Instructions
      1. In a large bowl, combine shrimp, pasta, green onion, bell pepper, celery, and peas.
      2. In a small bowl, whisk together Greek yogurt, lemon juice, vinegar, stevia, dill, salt, and pepper.
      3. Pour dressing over pasta mixture and toss until completely coated.
      4. Refrigerate for at least 30 minutes before serving.

With those three simple switches you can save your waistline over 1400 calories (+/-)….not to mention 160g of fat and over 30g of carbs!

Try it out and let me know what you think!

For The Love of Food,

Liz Jackson

Leave a comment