__Clean Sweep of the Week! __ Crockpot Chicken Stew

dirtychicken

It seems only fitting on the last official day of summer that I break out my best Fall friend; the trusty slow cooker!

I ran across this recipe on Pinterest and it just looked too yummy to pass up. I chose it as this weeks “clean sweep” not because it is inherently unhealthy as it sits; it actually isn’t too bad really! Either way, I wanted to show what I would change to add a little more nutritional bang for your “buck”.

The base of the recipe really stays the same; I just made a couple very slight modifications.

You can find the original recipe here:
http://whoneedsacape.com/2014/02/rustic-chicken-slow-cooker-stew/

Ingredients

  • 1.5 lbs boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 1 medium onion, wedged
  • 2 cups baby carrots
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 T. Lawry’s Seasoned Salt
  • 2 t parsley flakes
  • 1/2 t ground black pepper
  • 1.5 lbs red skinned potatoes, halved
  • 3 T cornstarch
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • Instructions
  1. Place chicken, seasonings & all vegetables into slow cooker. Cook on low 6 hours.
  2. Whisk cornstarch into milk, stir into slow cooker and cook 15 additional minutes on high.

Serving 4:
dirtychickenmacros

Here is my modified version:

Ingredients

  • 1.5 lbs boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 1 medium onion, wedged
  • 2 cups baby carrots
  • 100g sliced jicama (I made it into little flat sticks)
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 T. Lawry’s Seasoned Salt-to taste
  • 2 t parsley flakes
  • Paprika, to taste
  • Bay Leaf, to taste
  • 1/2 t ground black pepper
  • 1lb sweet potatoes, diced
  • 3 T oatmeal, ground to make oat flour
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond  milk
  • Instructions
  1. Place chicken, seasonings & all vegetables into slow cooker.

chickenstewprepchickenstewincrock 2. Cook on low for 6 hours.

3. Whisk oat flour into milk-let it sit and thicken for about 10 minutes (I actually let mine sit for about 20), stir into slow cooker and cook 15-30 additional minutes on high.

Serving 4:

cleanchickenmacros

I kept my servings to 4 like the original recipe but we all ate on it and I think I have 2 servings left over (at least)!

I also opted to shred the chicken and I am glad I did.
I went a little light on my seasonings this time I admit, but it was easily remedied with salt and pepper 😉

cleanchickenstewdone

May I suggest serving this with Low Carb Cornbread?

Soup’s On!

Liz Jackson

Leave a Reply

