Clean Sweep Of the Week-Pecan Sandies

My dear friend LorRae sent me this recipe to try and “clean up”. I admit that I have never had a pecan sandy because I am allergic to pecans, but I’m not letting it stop me from trying my best to whip up something similar without the guilt!

Here is the original recipe:

HOMEMADE PECAN SANDIES

1 sticks butter, unsalted (1/2 lb., softened)

1/2 cup vegetable oil

1/2 cup sugar, granulated

1/2 cup confectioner’s sugar (sifted)

1 eggs (large)

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 cups flour, all purpose (500 gr.)

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon cream of tartar

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 cups pecans (chopped)

1/2 cup sugar, granulated (for decoration)

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F.

In a large bowl, cream together the butter, vegetable oil, ½ cup white sugar and confectioners’ sugar until smooth.

Beat in the egg, then stir in the vanilla.

Combine the flour, baking soda, cream of tartar, and salt; stir into the creamed mixture. Mix in the pecans.

Roll dough into 1 inch balls and roll each ball in remaining white sugar. Place the cookies 2 inches apart onto un~greased cookie sheets. Bake for 10 to 12 minutes in the preheated oven, or until the edges are golden. Remove from cookie sheets to cool on wire racks.

The nutrition facts are based on 34 cookies (because that is what I got out of my recipe).
..All I can say is those better be amazingly delicious..

dirtypecancookie

Here is my version!

I chose to toast the pecans (because I can tolerate a couple that way 😀 ) and because it heightens the flavor of the nut.

CLEAN SWEEP PECAN SANDIES

1 cup fat free plain greek yogurt

4 oz. unsweetened applesauce

1/3 cup stevia, granulated  (to taste) * I originally added 1/2 cup and I feel like it was too much

1 eggs (large)

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

¾ cup oat flour

1/3 cup almonds, ground to almond flour

1/3 scant cup of coconut flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon cream of tartar

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 cup pecans, toasted and chopped (toasting is optional!)

  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F.
  2. In a large bowl, cream together the yogurt, stevia, applesauce until smooth.
  3. Beat in the egg, then stir in the vanilla extract.
  4. Combine the flours, baking soda, cream of tartar, and salt; stir into the creamed mixture. Mix in the pecans.
  5. Place the cookies 2 inches apart onto ungreased cookie sheets. Bake for 12 minutes in the preheated oven, or until the edges are golden.
  6. Remove from cookie sheets to cool on wire racks.

pecancookie

Again, the nutrition facts are based on 34 cookies.

cleanpecancookie

And judging from this…..

GraylickingspoonI think we did pretty good!

Cheers to cookies!

Liz Jackson

Leave a Reply

