Clean Sweep Throwback Thursday!-Slow Cooker Chicken and “Rice” Casserole

I am republishing this post as a clean sweep this week because that is what I did with this recipe from my Aunt’s.

Tis the Season for Slow cooker cooking!
Enjoy the throwback!

Gray and I went to visit my Aunt a few weeks back and she had this awesome chicken and rice dish that had been given to her. It was extremely simple but so very good I had to try and “clean it up” and make my own version.

The original recipe had white rice, cream of something soup, celery, carrots and chicken (I am not sure what else but these were for sure present). I knew I could do something similar and this is what I came up with!

Slow cooker chicken and “rice” casserole

1 pound chicken breast, cut into cubes
1 head of cauliflower, processed down into rice (just wash it off, cut it into florets and throw in the blender…)
½ bag baby carrots, sliced
½ bag regular frozen green beans
1 batch of homemade cream of chicken soup (use this recipe found here:  http://www.melskitchencafe.com/homemade-condensed-cream-of-chicken-soup-and-how-to-sub-in-recipes/     )-use Unsweetened CASHEW milk  or unsweetened almond milk, but Cashew is thicker…

1. Put cauliflower rice in a covered microwavable dish and microwave for about 6 minutes, squeeze out water from the cooked cauliflower. (I use a clean dish towel)

  1. Mix the cauliflower and veggies together in the crockpot and then pour ¾ of the soup mixture over them, mixing to combine.

chickenandrice

  1. take the cut up chicken and coat it with remaining cream of chicken and place on top of the veggie mix in the slow cooker.
  2. cook for at least 5- 6 hours on low (or until you are ready to eat!)

I wish I could show you the final product…. But, we kinda ate it all before I could :D-sorry!

This would serve 5 or 6 I think.

Enjoy a classic comfort food casserole without the guilt, it’s “Southern-Light”!

To Your Best Health,

Liz Jackson

One thought on “Clean Sweep Throwback Thursday!-Slow Cooker Chicken and “Rice” Casserole

Leave a Reply

