PaperClip Power

Before you scold me too harshly for not writing much (…ok, not at all) as of late; just know I have felt REALLY bad about it! I won’t write unless I have something that moves me to. You will never see me try to push a topic that isn’t interesting, important or something that I don’t think will help you in some way.

It is funny to think something as simple as a paper clip has given me the motivation to sit down and wri…er, type for you today!

This post is short and sweet and really only meant as a quick tip revolving around what to do when we get snacky (or in my case, Hangry; a very unflattering state for me personally).

It all started with a trip to my pantry because I just wanted something to crunch on! I open my cupboard to see what was about and immediately reached for these Mini Peanut Butter Snack Crackers that are not even mine, they belong to Gray.

20160327_152240

But I’ve taught the kid that sharing is important so I am sure he won’t mind me swiping a couple. I open up the box and see that I have paper clipped the inside bag closed to help keep them fresh (score mom “adulting” points).

20160327_152307

Seeing the paperclip gave me just enough pause that I stopped and reconsidered my choice. “Do I really NEED mini peanut butter sandwich cookies”? The answer is, of course, “no I do not.”

I closed the box, sighed and silently scold myself for nearly stealing my poor child’s sandwich crackers and put them back in the pantry. I then proceeded to the fridge and got some cottage cheese instead. I know the slow digesting protein of the cottage cheese will keep me full until dinner and I realize I have saved myself from stepping off in the wrong direction in food choices for the day. Win!

The above mentioned scenario has actually played out in my kitchen a few times over the last week and every time I find myself stopping at the paper clip. How simple of a solution to unwanted snacking! I implore you to try this for yourself! Make the snacks a little harder to get to somehow, add an extra step or anything to give that extra second of pause before you dig in.

I would love to hear if it helps you as it has helped me!

Happy Snacking!

j2

 Liz Jackson

Leave a Reply

