What is She Thinking?

One of the most frequent questions I get is “What do you eat?”

I eat a lot! But I think they are more interested in HOW I figure out what I am eating versus what I actually eat.

So….

A rare inside peak into my brain when I am looking at a nutrition label-yes, the BACK OF A PACKAGE-not just the front (seatbelts recommended).

 

FYI-My rules for Gray, Zach ARE DIFFERENT-but that’s for another time.

LABEL DECODING

nutrition-label

I completely skip the calories, I DON’T CARE.

Immediate focus-sugar. Is it over 9g? Yes, put it back I am not buying it.                                                 Is it under 9g? Continue,

Next focus- Protein, is it higher than the sugar (there are a few exceptions to this-like if I am looking at food that I wouldn’t expect to have protein)? If not- put back. If Yes, Continue

Next focus- Fats– how high is it collectively? What is the saturated fat content? Depending on the product I will allow for more or less saturated fat, but as a general rule FOR MYSELF-the lower the better and if it has more than 6g of saturated fat per serving- I do not buy it.  I focus on getting the majority of my fats from Poly and Mono-unsaturated fats. Does this mean I advocate against eggs, real butter or oils? NO-BUT I DO advocate knowing your limits on these things and we all have a threshold for every type of food.

Next Focus- Carbohydrates– how high is it? What is the fiber? If the fiber is less than the sugar then I usually won’t buy it and if there is no fiber I will not buy it (with A FEW exceptions, like dairy or proteins -as thesel have no fiber NATURALLY).

Next Focus-Ingredients– less than 10? Yes, continue No? Put it back-usually.
Can I pronounce or do I know what all of the ingredients are for? Yes, continue-if not I will GOOGLE  and decide if that is something I am ok with or not (THAT depends on each person, btw).
Any artificial colors? I will not buy USUALLY.
Soy? I will not buy USUALLY.

 

nutrtion

Multi-tasking focuses Is this organic? Non-GMO? “Natural”? Whole food or packaged?

I believe in a mixed approach for organics. I will go for organic on things like tomato sauce, fruits, some veggies and corn and popcorn (I am sure I forgetting something).

The thing to remember is “organic” doesn’t automatically mean that it changes how your body metabolizes a food. A cookie is STILL a cookie, even if it is made with organic sugar. Regular sugar and organic sugar are STILL SUGAR.

 

Looking back on all that, now I know why I feel like I need a nap after going to the  grocery store!

Enjoy!

Liz Jackson

 

One thought on “What is She Thinking?

  1. This is an awesome break down. It’s probably the best and easiest way I have ever heard label reading put. Great job!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

